Shelf Life

image by Chocolate Geek

image by Chocolate Geek

My husband and I are looking into buying our first house. It’s a pretty exciting prospect, especially for me. I’m letting him take the reins on dealing with lenders and securing a decent mortgage and all of those specifics. Meanwhile, I just get to check out houses and come up with all sorts of decorating ideas. It’s a little bit pointless to think about room colors and furniture placement and wall hangings, etc. when you have no idea what kind of layout or space your potential home will have, but it’s still a lot of fun.

Today, I went searching for book-shelving ideas. Having grown up in a home where the number of books inside far exceeded the number of bricks that created the foundation of our house, I can’t help but have big plans to increase my own in-home library. While I recognize that my bookshelf future is far tamer than any of the designs and creations below, there’s no harm in daydreaming.

From freshhome.com

From Bookshelf

From Gizmodo

2 Comments

  1. rhonda said,

    January 27 2009 at 7:30 pm

    love the couch/bookcase. Seems pretty practical. If it’s a sleeper, even better. The rest are cool, but a little hard to make work…well, in my book0-stuffed house anyway.

  2. elizabeth said,

    January 31 2009 at 2:42 pm

    That last one…sigh. When we move to our next location, the husband and I will look for a little more room so we can have a study/office/library, and I am determined to have a wall of books. Right now we have bookshelves everywhere, save for the bathroom–I would love to be able to organize them all together.

    And I’d like a dedicated space for my magazines.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

