Apartment Revamping

I am a firm believer that the best way to make small spaces more livable is to frequently change their layout and decoration. I do this all the time. I’ll set up the apartment one way, live with it for a couple of months and then feel totally conjested and trapped and do a complete overhaul one weekend. That’s what I did this past weekend and it worked out brilliantly!

Here’s what it looked like before

The apartment is just two open floors in a traditional loft style. The bottom floor was  an open space that served as both living room and dining room in one.

I took this bookcase (not pictured above because I didn’t have it when I took those older pictures), flipped it on its side and basically divided the space in half to create two warm, homey, livable rooms!  We are totally loving it!

This is looking from the kitchen into the dining room.

The living room exists beyond the dining room table.

This is essentially the “new” dining room. Notice the original artwork on the wall.

Shout out to my little sister!

This is my favorite part–my little tea and coffee station. I took an old tv stand and converted it into a beverage stand and am using the cabinets to store kitchen towels and other similar items that were clogging up my very limited closet and cupboard space.

And here’s looking into the living room from the dining room. In the back corner by the window, we have a nice little reading nook. The nook could really use a house plant or something; obviously it’s still a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

