Good Morning, Good Morning

 


image by nlubis

image by nlubis

I’m not really an early riser. Most mornings, I try to push sleep to the very last possible minute. Often, I push too far and spend my mornings racing around trying to get everything done in time to avoid being late to work. Usually, I fail. I don’t tend to sleep very well at night and when the alarm goes off in the morning, all I can think about is how warm and comfortable I am in bed. So I just stay there longer than I should. 

Every now and then, like this morning, some commitment or task forces me out of bed before the sun is even up and though I hate it at the time with every fiber of my being, those mornings always end up being the most enjoyable. There is something very invigorating about witnessing the day’s transition from dark to light. There’s a certain quiet serenity in the brisk walk to the car when the streets are still empty. A peacefulness to the relative solitude on the road–being one of few cars. 

I’ve accomplished so much in such a short amount of time this morning. I arrived at work nearly an hour and half before everyone else and I’ve already completed more than half of the things I needed to do today. Waking up early and coming alive at the same time as the morning greatly increases my productivity. When I wake up later, I’m already behind on the day and feel as though I’m in a rush to catch up. But this morning, I got up early and am moving at pace with the day, instead of lagging behind. 

It’s very refreshing and makes me strongly consider upping the effort to drag my lazy butt out of bed earlier each day. We’ll see if I still feel that way this afternoon when I start to crash around 2 pm!

Leave a Reply

