Bye bye ’08

image via Flickr by motleypixel

2008 was a pretty good year for me. I got married. We got a dog. Our financial situation is pretty secure despite the crumbling economy. I got to go to Hawaii. All in all, I can’t really complain. And I must say, I’m looking forward to 2009. I will likely begin a school program that will lead me to a new and interesting career–one with greater flexibility that will allow me the time and energy to work on my writing. I’m feeling good about writing, as something I want to continue pursuing and investing more time in. I’ve got set goals for running. I’m going to train for a 10k and then a half-marathon, and just thinking about those goals makes me feel healthy and strong. I definitely think I’m happier than I was a year ago. More fit and more at peace as well. I don’t usually make New Year’s resolutions because they are often too hard to keep and who wants to start a new year thinking about how you’ll fail to achieve all the things you set out to do? But this year is different, I feel confident in my goals for 2009: to apply myself to training for massage therapy certification, to run more, to worry less, to get a library card and read lots of books, to write when ideas come to me and sometimes even when they don’t,  and to take greater joy in simple pleasures, like cooking dinner with my husband, or walking the dog.

Here’s to 2009. May it be a successful year.

Leave a Reply

