Springtime Hope For A Dismal Winter Day

I have to admit that I haven’t been feeling all that wonderful as of late. While Baltimore’s winter is nowhere near as bad as what I got used to after living in Michigan for 10 years, the cold and gray are starting to wear on me all the same. I don’t like that it’s already dark by the time I leave the office. I hate that the skin on the tip of my nose keeps drying out and flaking. My eyes feel extra heavy and painful. My energy level is hitting new lows. I feel like January is always the worst of the winter months. Not because it’s always the coldest. Not because it gets the least amount of sun. February probably trumps January in both of those respects. It’s because I always feel like I deserve better than below freezing temperatures and 20-30 mph wind gusts. It’s the start of a new year, shouldn’t abundant streaks of sunshine and waves of warmth be heralding in this new beginning? Frost on my windshield and ice on the ground just seem to portend abysmal things to come.

I’ve found in the past that fresh snowfalls help, covering the bare trees and hard ground. But there’s no snow in Maryland and even in Michigan, where it comes often, it usually comes all at once, or too much for too long and the novelty quickly wears thin.

It’s no wonder really that people are so inamored with spring. By the time it finally arrives, I always feel as though I could not have lasted another day without it. So despite the fact that it will make me yearn for sunlight and warmth even more than I already do, here are some of my flickr favorites (keyword: springtime):

by LaVeta Jude

by LaVeta Jude

by LunaDiRimmel

by LunaDiRimmel

by Skully51

by Skully51

by Artcatcher

by Artcatcher

by Angela n Alabama

by Angela n Alabama

by Andres Resch

by Andres Resch

Leave a Reply

