A Picture Perfect Home Part 1: The Kitchen

As my husband and I get deeper and deeper into the home-buying process, I’ve started thinking more seriously about how I would love to decorate our home. While I think funky furniture and fun color schemes can be really enjoyable and worth considering, my mind always wanders first to artwork. I really love interesting and beautiful artwork and have become increasingly obsessed with photography as a main decorative element.

This post is the first in a series about photography for all the different living spaces in an average (read: modest) home. I have always been a fan of giving each room a different decorative identity, so to speak. I like the idea of creating spaces that flow nicely, one into the next (i.e. not having a magenta colored bedroom next to a buttercup yellow painted bathroom, for an extreme example), but that also stand alone in a thematic way that is different from all of the other rooms (i.e. a living room with a more modern design and a bedroom with a more meditative, Asian influence).

I’m starting with the kitchen because I think it is the easiest of the rooms to conceptualize. I’ve seen a lot of people lean toward a more country farm or rustic kitchen theme, but for me a kitchen shouldn’t be cluttered with too many decorative elements–a kitchen is already so busy with action that it doesn’t really need a lot of busy decor. I’d prefer a few well-placed photographs that really speak to the essential focus of the space: food.

All of the prints I have chosen are available on Etsy for very reasonable prices.

For a warmer theme:

by agadoyle

by photohale

by photohale

by photohale

by photohale

by MichaelBerman

by MichaelBerman

by PPDesigns

by PPDesigns

Or for something a little lighter:

by flandersfield

by flandersfield

by photohale

by photohale

by AnnWilkinson

by AnnWilkinson

by photohale

by photohale

by brownrose

by brownrose

by allieart4children

by allieart4children

3 Comments

  1. ppdesigns said,

    February 3 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Thanks for including my spices photo amongst your lovely selection of photographs!! i’m also looking for a house now and all I can think about is how to decorate and am constantly on the look out for art. I’ve even gone and got a few things from etsy already – hope they will fit in somewhere in our home (once we find one!)

  2. elizabeth said,

    February 5 2009 at 5:08 pm

    One of the families we were close to back when we lived right outside of Philly would have photographs of food all over their kitchen…only they were completed, framed puzzles. I’ve never seen anything like it since, but some of these pictures took me right back to that kitchen, and I haven’t seen that place since the 80’s.

    I’m personally a fan of vintage ads on the walls and foreign food products on the shelves, but I’m a total food marketing nerd. 🙂

    • thingsiadore said,

      February 6 2009 at 10:50 am

      I think vintage ads are very cool. As far as kitchen decor goes, I’m mostly anti cutesy knick knacks of animals that have to be slaughtered before they are consumed. There’s something very weird about having a polka dotted pig smiling at you while you’re eating bacon.


Leave a Reply

