A Picture Perfect Home Part 2a: A Zen Study

In Part 1 of this series, I featured photographs for kitchen decoration. Now, I’m taking on the study. A study is a very important room for me. I like to be organized and surrounded by elements that help stimulate creativity, especially when I am working on my writing. I feel like a study is the space in a house that you can really make entirely your own. When guests come, they hang out in the living room or den. I share my bedroom with my husband. The kitchen is a very bustling, active space when in use. A study, though, can offer real respite from the hectic nature of daily life. I envision my own study as a very calming space. A space devoted to books and writing and opening my mind to new ideas. I plan on doing two posts about using photographs to decorate a study: one for how I envision my own private study and one for how I envision my husband decorating his. Right now, we share a study that is actually just one half of a large bedroom. The thought of one day owning a home that allows us each a study space of our own is a joyous thought indeed. 

I picture my perfect study as a space dedicated to both my interest in writing and my interest in meditative, therapeutic endeavors like massage therapy. The photographs I’ve selected reflect those two interests and  are, like with Part 1, available for purchase on Esty.

 

by MKMcKenna

by MKMcKenna

by MKMcKenna

by MKMcKenna

by BillyCurrie

by BillyCurrie

by photopia

by photopia

by ValeriaH

by ValeriaH

 

 

by ValeriaH

by ValeriaH

 

by LeaSeguin

by LeaSeguin

by Foxxysair8

by Foxxysair8

 

by yvonnecatterson

by yvonnecatterson

by orphanedapparel

by orphanedapparel

1 Comment

  1. Ianny Lau said,

    February 9 2009 at 9:05 pm

    You might want to consider adding a couple of Japanese paintings to complete the Zen theme.

    One famous Japanese master is Hokusai. You can find prints of his range of works here:

    http://www.splashposters.com/arts-posters-4.php


Leave a Reply

