HERO :)

This morning, as I was walking to my car, I saw a woman doubled over on the sidewalk. Her body was slumped against the curb and she was curled into herself. I thought she was drunk or high or suffering some other similar affliction that is common to people you come across on city streets. I stopped and asked her if she was okay, though, and she replied “I think I’m having a heart attack.” She went on to explain that her chest felt tight and pained, her arm was numb and she felt like she might vomit. I said “Yep, that sounds like a heart attack. Let me call an ambulance for you.”

I waited until the ambulance got there before leaving for work. I don’t know have any ability to follow up and see how the woman is doing, but my hope is that she is okay and recovering safely. Next time you see someone who looks like they could be in pain, stop and ask them if they are. You just might save that person’s life.

Leave a Reply

