A Bit O’ Green

Happy St. Patty’s Day! In honor of the holiday, I’ve searched high and low for my favorite uses of green in home decoration and decor. Have a safe holiday!

I love the way this softer, earthy green works with the brighter orange. The colors work well together because they both have warm, natural tones, but softness of the green creates a perfect background that allows the orange to pop without being overpowering.

The touch of green in the window dressing really brightens up this more neutral-toned room and helps draw out the blue from the floor rug. The calming affect of the dark wood and khaki remains, but the burst of green helps keep the room from feeling dull and drained.

While I think this room could benefit from a nice bamboo rug instead of one that adds still more green squares, I do like the repeated geometric elements in this room (the chair cushions have green squares that are then mirrored in the pillows that line the window bench) and the many shades of green that are used. I think the chairs are fantastic and look incredibly comfortable.

This bright, kelly green is just beautiful against the white of the kitchen shelves and cabinets. It creates a very fun, clean look.

Combining green and yellow really infuses a room with light and makes any time of year feel more like spring.

Soft, airy greens paired with creamy yellows and neutrals really enhance the height and openness of a room. The darker color of the coffee table grounds the room and draws the attention toward the center, while the pale greens help keep the room open and accent it’s light and high ceilings.

Anyone have green as a main component of their home decor? I’d love to see it! Again, Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

4 Comments

  1. samarah said,

    April 2 2009 at 11:44 pm

    hi, My name is samarah, I am a new mom and I Live In apartments, I have one bedroom and I do not have much things to put in it we are very small family, its just my husband and I and Our little boy Who is now 7months old. I am a pretty stay home mom with my child as I refuse to put him in a day care center for all the good reason I have , I was hopping you could help me put my room together, as I have view your posts I was really interest in the first picture decor. so I hope I hear from you soon.

    p.s This is my first time ever doing this I feel a little shy sending you this comment.

  2. cheryle said,

    May 2 2010 at 8:59 am

    Hi,
    I really like your choice of green on your wall. Would it be possible to let me know the make and colour please.
    Thanks

  3. cheryle said,

    May 2 2010 at 9:01 am

    Hi,
    I really like your choice of green on the bedroom wall. Would it be possible to let me know the make and colour please.
    Thanks

  4. November 16 2010 at 11:44 pm

    i would be busy again doing some home decors this coming christmas, i’d be buying some new decors for the season :;-


Leave a Reply

