A Picture Perfect Home Part 3: The Bedroom

This is the third in a series about using photography to decorate the different living spaces in an average (read: modest) home. I have always been a fan of giving each room a different decorative identity.

For me, a bedroom is ideally a space dedicated to sleeping and lovemaking. Though I’ve never lived somewhere with enough room to keep my bedroom separate from a study or general living space, I’ve always wished that I could read, or write, or watch tv in one room and essentially retire to my bedroom at the end of the night, quietly and peacefully and without the physical clutter of more mentally active spaces. I’m not a firm believer or follower of feng shui, but I think there’s something to be said for the idea of making your bedroom a place where your work life and your everyday stressors don’t follow you.

Since I’m still technically a newlywed, I think I would use photography in the bedroom to play up the relational aspect of that room, in hopes of creating a place where my husband and I can always be peaceful and happy in each other’s company–free from stress, without arguments and simply focused on relaxing and enjoying each other’s presence.

The following photographs are available on Etsy.

by irenesuchocki

by irenesuchocki

by landonhowell

by landonhowell

by ImagineStudio

by ImagineStudio

by ImagineStudio

by ImagineStudio

And these are some of our own photos that I think would look really nice together as a framed series on one wall or above the bed.

dsc_5335_2

dsc_6082

dsc_6376_2

Or perhaps just this one on it’s own, as a larger print in a nice wooden frame. It’s hard to get the cat to take a picture, so this is the closest we have to a family portrait. Both Dan and the dog could use a little grooming, but I love this shot anyway!

img_2844_2

Leave a Reply

