Inspiration Friday: Recession Edition

I found out yesterday that the very tiny company I work for will soon be starting layoffs. It could be “any day now.” Yikes. I am one of three people who could potentially be let go. We don’t know when it is coming. We don’t know how many of us will lose our jobs. I should definitely be freaking out–and in many ways I am–but I’m trying to remain positive by reminding myself that I was only going to be at this job until I finished massage therapy school anyway and that my current position is hardly my employment ideal. So today I’m feeling inspired by all of the things I’d rather being doing than working for this company. Granted, if I’m let go I won’t have the financial resources to do some of these things, but they serve as a nice reminder that my job is just a job, not the source of happiness and inspiration in my life.

Spend a month in Nerja, Spain

It looks so beautiful!

by MarsW via Flickr

by MarsW via Flickr

by MacieJMaximilian via Flickr

by MacieJMaximilian via Flickr

Fill my closet with gorgeous spring apparel

gap

Start my own massage therapy business

Paint one room in the new house a bold, daring color

Not sure my husband is inspired to do the same, though!

via Domino

via Domino

via Domino

via Domino

via Domino

via Domino

Devote an entire weekend to nothing but reading, preferably while sitting out in the sun

by miyagisan via Flickr

by miyagisan via Flickr

Take a midday nap while it’s raining outside

by vanstaffs via Flickr

by vanstaffs via Flickr

Fly to Chicago and just spend a week laughing it all off with my fabulous sister

by crazyfunkycool via Etsy

by crazyfunkycool via Etsy

1 Comment

  1. Grand Cards said,

    March 27 2009 at 3:43 pm

    My Spanish professor in college was from Nerja and he always would talk about how it was the most beautiful place in the world. Since then, I have definitely wanted to go there, and it is one place that I would love to visit if I ever make it back to Spain.


Leave a Reply

