Programming Note

My husband and I are in the process of moving into our new (and first!) house and it is totally kicking my ass. Moving is exhausting and we were without internet up through last night. These are my excuses for the total lack of blogging. The boxes are getting unpacked, though, and the house is coming together; I’m starting to feel less stressed. I woke up early this morning and did some exercise (another thing that has been painfully neglected during this move) and that really helped me feel rejuvenated and excited for the day.

Anyway, this is my apology for the extended absence and a promise to get back to the regular blogging ASAP! I will be making it my priority to get some things up this week, including a Wednesday edition of Love It Monday. I’ll also have my second Wear Today going up before the end of the work week. I’m going to make my husband take me out Friday night for a nice, relaxing date/break from moving and will be posting an ideal Wear Today outfit for that occasion. I’ll also be sure to get Inspiration Friday up this week and will hopefully have a few more post of things I adore–it will be nice to focus on some positive stuff for a while! Also, I will be updating my 2009 Books and Movies list sometime soon. I haven’t read anything this year apart from massage therapy books, but I have seen a bunch of movies that need to be added, some of which I highly recommend.

For now, I leave you with this:

As I was driving to work today, I listened to an interview on NPR wherein Steve Luxenberg discussed his book Annie’s Ghost: A Journey Into A Family Secret.

From Amazon:

Beth Luxenberg was an only child. Everyone knew it: her grown children, her friends, even people she’d only recently met. So when her secret emerged, her son Steve Luxenberg was bewildered. He was certain that his mother had no siblings, just as he knew that her name was Beth, and that she had raised her children, above all, to tell the truth.

By then, Beth was nearly eighty, and in fragile health. While seeing a new doctor, she had casually mentioned a disabled sister, sent away at age two. For what reason? Was she physically disabled? Mentally ill? The questions were dizzying, the answers out of reach. Beth had said she knew nothing of her sister’s fate.

Six months after Beth’s death in 1999, the secret surfaced once more. This time, it had a name: Annie.

Steve Luxenberg began digging. As he dug, he uncovered more and more. His mother’s name wasn’t Beth. His aunt hadn’t been two when she’d been hospitalized. She’d been twenty-one; his mother had been twenty-three. The sisters had grown up together. Annie had spent the rest of her life in a mental institution, while Beth had set out to hide her sister’s existence. Why?

Employing his skills as a journalist while struggling to maintain his empathy as a son, Luxenberg pieces together the story of his mother’s motivations, his aunt’s unknown life, and the times in which they lived. His search takes him to imperial Russia and Depression-era Detroit, through the Holocaust in Ukraine and the Philippine war zone, and back to the hospitals where Annie and many others were lost to memory.

Combining the power of reportage with the intrigue of mystery, Annie’s Ghosts explores the nature of self-deception and self-preservation. The result is equal parts memoir, social history, and riveting detective story.

The interview really made me want to read this book. It sounds at once fascinating and immensensly sad.

Have a great Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

