Back In My Day…

After posting about the Fantastic Mr. Fox clip yesterday, I got to thinking about some of the other books I loved as a child that are now being turned into movies. 

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

 

Where the Wild Things Are

(*I love the use of Arcade Fire as the music for this trailer. Pure win.)

 

It is strange to think about the books of my youth becoming the movies of someone else’s. I wonder if kids will still grow up reading these stories, or if the movies will effectively replace the books. Instead of reading Where the Wild Things Are, you’ll just watch it. It will be like Winnie-the-Pooh, whose adorable bear self is plastered all over kids stuff from sheets and sleeping bags to backpacks and pencils. How many kids do you think still read the original stories that were published back in 1926, though? I don’t think I ever did, but I most certainly watched the cartoon. 

It’s a sad thought, but I suppose this is the way things go. On the plus side, thinking about the kids’ movies of today afforded me a nice opportunity to reminiscence about some of the movies I really loved when I was growing up. 

Animated Disney movies like Aladdin and The Lion King. 

Live action films like 3 Ninjas and Blank Check. 

Awesome sports movies: The Sandlot, Rookie of the Year, Angels in the Outfield. 

Stuff with dogs: Beethoven, Homeward Bound (which was also a largely forgotten and very good book). 

 

Seriously, how awesome was 3 Ninjas?

Leave a Reply

