Gift Guide {For Your Other Loves}

I’m not all that big on Valentine’s Day. It’s not because of bitterness or contempt, but simply because I’ve been with my husband since I was 16 years old and I like to think that every day is a day to celebrate how much we love each other and reflect on how our friendship and intimacy have made our lives richer and more rewarding. That and in February, I’m still feeling the hit of the holiday season and don’t really have a lot of extra cash on hand to do anything big on the 14th. We usually just wait until the holiday passes and then buy up a bunch of heavily discounted candy. Plus, I’m still holding out for the creation of Love Day. (That one’s for you, Daniel.)

But in years past, when I’ve had a bit of spending money and was a little more on top of things, I’ve sent gifts to friends or to my sister. I like to use Valentine’s Day as an opportunity to tell people in my life who are not my husband how much they mean to me and how much I love them. So this is a gift guide for those people you love who are not your lover. 

Sweetheart Sunnies [via here]

I can just picture my sister rockin’ these shades with a little mini dress and some kick ass heels. She would look incredible. 

Hello Lucky has a whole of host of adorable Valentine’s cards, but I think this Pirate Monkey would be great for a best friend that lives much too far away. 

My mom would technically need 3 pearls to represent her kiddos, but all the same, this Mama Bird Nest Necklace from Stuck In The Coop is a lovely way to say “love you Mom!” [via here]

How about some nice XOXO pencils by Simple Song Designs for a friend who loves to doodle? 

I can’t think of a single friend I have who wouldn’t love a batch of Valentine’s Day cupcakes shipped directly to their door from The Cupcake Mint. [via here]

1 Comment

  1. February 12 2010 at 9:17 am

    […] at 9:00 am (Fun Stuff) Tags: Valentine's Day, urban outfitters, guide guide, besties Last week I posted a Valentine’s gift guide with gift ideas for all the friends in your life that you love so much.  I hadn’t checked […]


Leave a Reply

