Listen Up {A Little Lovin’}

One thing I do plan to do on Valentine’s Day is listen to some good music and dance around the kitchen with my husband while we’re making dinner. Mid-cooking kitchen dancing is one of my favorite things. 

Here are some great songs for when you are feeling lovey-dovey this Valentine’s Day, or anytime really (though they aren’t all exactly “love songs”). It’s going to be a snowy weekend for those of us in Baltimore, so maybe my husband and I will cuddle up with some of these songs and a nice bottle of wine tonight.* 

Madeleine Peyroux, “La Vie En Rose”

Donora, “I Think I Like You”

This one is perfect for a more upbeat kitchen dance. 

Radiohead, “Thinking About You”

Múm, “We Have A Map of the Piano”

This one is kind of funky, but I think it’s really beautiful. 

Ali Farka Toure, “Ai Du”

It doesn’t get any better than this. 

Not actually a recommendation here, but does anyone else remember this positively ridiculous Britney Spears’ song? Whenever I’m feeling a little down, I like to listen to early Britney songs that didn’t end up being really big hits. Always good for a laugh. 

Britney Spears, “Email My Heart” 

*Who am I kidding? We’ll be watching The Wire and drinking Trader Joe’s Three-buck Chuck.
1 Comment

  1. February 5 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Excellent selections! That Email My Heart song is hilarious….pre-auto tuned Britney. I’ve never even heard that tune before…there’s probably a reason for it. Have a great weekend!! xoxo


Leave a Reply

