You Said It {Keep Calm and Carry On}

The most essential factor is persistence – the determination never to allow your energy or enthusiasm to be dampened by the discouragement that must inevitably come.

~James Whitcomb Riley

I am feeling extremely frustrated today. I graduated from massage therapy school at the end of November after doubling up my classes so that I could graduate as soon as possible. I took my national exam at the end of December, on the only date still available in that month when I was eligible to sign up for the exam. I signed up one hour after being made eligible, so pretty much as soon as possible. I took my state exam at the end of January, which was the very first testing date available after the national exam. I took that test as soon as possible. I have done everything as quickly and diligently as I possibly can and now I am left just sitting around and waiting for my license application to be processed. There’s so much red tape and I feel completely helpless. I’ve started to feel more and more discouraged as the days pass. Something that should be inching closer and closer just feels like it is moving increasingly out of my reach. But, I’m determined to remain calm and persistent. Perhaps anything worth doing really is worth waiting for. I need to think of it in the same way I’ve been thinking about our insane, frustrating weather. Eventually, this snow will melt and spring will come and I’ll feel as though a great weight has been lifted from my shoulders.

I’m taking the rest of my Friday to do some house cleaning, work on my business website and relax for a while with a bit of reading and maybe a nice hot bath to soothe my back, which is tired and achy from two hours of shoveling yesterday. I’m looking forward to spending some time out of the house this weekend after having been cooped up all week thanks to the snow. Have a wonderful weekend and to all those who are celebrating, Happy Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

