You Said It {To A Little Sister}

A sister can be seen as someone who is both ourselves and very much not ourselves – a special kind of double.

~Toni Morrison

Liz!

This summer, after her graduation, my sister is moving to Germany. She’ll be purchasing her plane ticket soon. Right now, she lives in Chicago and I live in Baltimore. We see each other rarely, but there’s still something comforting about knowing that if she needed me, I could hop on a plane and be there in a couple of hours. That won’t be possible when she’s all the way across the ocean in Germany. I’m excited for her and happy that she’ll be living somewhere new, experiencing a different culture, learning a new language and living with the man she loves. But at the same time, it feels like such an enormous loss and breaks my heart just thinking about it. I love my little sister so much. She is so funny and cool and positively fabulous. And tiny. She’s oh so tiny and beautiful.

3 Comments

  1. February 16 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Oh sad! At least you’ll have another reason to travel to Germany now 🙂 And with email and facebook and skype, it will be like she’s in the next room! xo

  2. liz said,

    February 16 2010 at 10:51 pm

    this made me happy and very sad at the same time. i love you.

  3. Rhonda said,

    February 18 2010 at 9:05 am

    You guys are making me cry. I am also happy and sad, with some worried thrown in.

    Liz is so beautiful in this picture. There’s something very 1920’s about her appearance and her beautiful eyes are melancholy, yet defiant. Watch out, Germany!


Leave a Reply

