You Said It {The Time Has Come}

“The greatest barrier to success is the fear of failure.”

~Sven Geran Eriksson

On Tuesday, my massage therapy license arrived in the mail. I am officially a Licensed Massage Therapist. On Wednesday, I published the website {www.clairetaylormassage.com} for my business. I have never created a website before and am extremely pleased with how it turned out. I have selected this coming Monday, March 1st as the official start date for appointments. This is it. I started this process at the beginning of February, 2009 and now, just a little over one year later, I’m ready to be a working Massage Therapist.

It’s scary. I am a highly motivated person and when I set out to do something well, I take it very hard when I fail in that endeavor. Massage Therapy is a competitive business. You have to find a way to distinguish yourself from the crowd and you have to be able to give not just a good massage, but a great massage every time. In a business that is largely driven by word of mouth recommendations, every client is a crucial component in building a successful practice. It feels like a lot of pressure. I’m trying to remain calm and forcing myself to remember that it’s all about staying centered, staying focused and being present for my clients and myself in every session. The rest is a bit of luck, a lot of determination and a nice dose of courage.

* * * * * *

This weekend, I have a few massages left in my free promotion and my husband and I are (weather permitting) going out in search of a long overdue washer and dryer. Saturday night I’m catching up with a friend I haven’t seen in a while. Other than that, I’m looking forward to watching The Wire and doing a bit of reading. It would be nice if the cold, blistering weather we have right now would turn around a bit, but I’m not counting on it.

Have a wonderful weekend!

1 Comment

  1. KateSouth said,

    February 28 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Congratulations! Pursuing your dream can be scary, but so fulfilling…I’m sure you will be successful. If I lived in Baltimore, I would definitely be a client. I’m in dire need of a massage!


Leave a Reply

