The Cove {Movie Recommendation}

photo by jurvetson (click picture for link)

I love a good documentary film. Last year, I wrote about Man on Wire, which is an immensely fun and happy documentary about Philippe Petit’s 1974 high wire walk between the Twin Towers. The story is exciting and it’s depicted in a way that really invites you to become a part of the stealthy, secretive quest to tiptoe on top of the world.

The Cove, which Dan and I watched yesterday, is equally successful at drawing you into it’s undercover, stealth mission, but leaves you with an entirely opposite emotional outcome. It’s a devastating film, crushing and heartbreaking. You will marvel at the horror that is revealed and the audacity of those who commit it. There are moments in this movie that are very hard to watch, but I emphatically encourage you to watch this film anyway. No one on earth should remain ignorant to the atrocities depicted in this documentary, nor should they be denied the flat out awesomeness of how this film was made.

So go, watch it and spread the word. Knowledge is power. Help bring this story further into the light.

3 Comments

  1. KateSouth said,

    March 22 2010 at 10:00 pm

    That documentary looks heartbreaking. I have only seen the previews and I just don’t think I could handle it, emotionally. Those types of things always stick with me and make me feel ill inside for weeks afterwards. I already know quite a bit about the whole horrific situation and the imagery just might be too much. But I am thankful that it won the Oscar and that hopefully more people are becoming aware of the brutality being waged against these fantastic creatures.

  2. charmcitykim said,

    March 23 2010 at 9:20 am

    This documentary was amazing. I was left horrified and heartbroken (and will NEVER look at aquariums the same again).

    I’m glad you liked it! I’ve been recommending it to everyone but nobody wants to see it (because they not how horrific it is).

    • CT said,

      March 23 2010 at 10:07 am

      Ditto on the aquarium thing. I had no idea that that was how most sea parks and aquariums got their dolphins. It was so depressing.


Leave a Reply

