First Day of Summer

Today is the official start of summer! Here in Baltimore, we’re ushering in the season with uncomfortably hot weather. But I’m not going to let that ruin summer for me. It’s such a great season. There’s always lots to do and so many great ways to relax and have fun.

This summer I’m looking forward to…

…Just relaxing in the park, where it’s always 10º cooler than anywhere else in the city. On Tuesday and Sunday evenings, they have free concerts. It’s fun to set up a blanket on Pagoda Hill and enjoy a little picnic while listening to music.

…Sprucing up the garden and enjoying the beauty of our back patio while sharing a bottle of wine on cool (a person can dream!) evenings.

…Keeping up with my running in spite of the warm weather. Though I’m also hoping to supplement this with some swimming from time to time. I can’t wait for the pool to open up.

…Spending time with my awesome sister before she breaks my heart by moving to Germany.


…And of course, hanging with my husband. He’s my favorite companion when it comes to trying out new recipes with fresh summer ingredients, walking to get gelato in the evenings, completing little projects around the house and, of course, just lounging around on the couch watching movies and avoiding the heat.

What are you looking forward to doing this summer?

Leave a Reply

